Hey Newbie Writers! Do you have your 2nd Story Yet?

Posted: October 26, 2010 in Writing
Tags: , ,

Yes, I know you’re looking at me like I have two heads, especially if you’re in the draft stages or even the final stages of writing your first literary masterpiece.  I know that just being able to finish the blasted thing was work enough and making it perfect is like a full time job.  If you’re really on the ball, you’re building your social platform and actively marketing your work around.  Trust me, I feel you on all of these things, especially as an indie author striking it out on her own.  Between editing and marketing, the last thing I want to think about is a second story.

But it’s very important to do so!

Unless you’re Stephen King or JK Rowling, the chances of making it big on the very first book are very slim.  Through my many hours of research and podcast listening, I’ve learned that you really don’t make serious money until your third book.  You can compare it to stocking up your writer’s book shelf.  Having more than one story in your back pocket shows:

You’re consistent:  You didn’t just write the first book and quit.  As a matter of fact, you were so serious about being a novelist, you dove straight into the whole love/hate relationship with writing again to make that second, third, and fourth book.

You’re keeping your creative momentum going:  I found this to be true while editing my book.  I’m really excited about the new stories I want to write, not only in the Epsilon series but outside of it as well.  That excitement makes the editing process not so grueling and keeps me on task so I can finish on time and get to write those stories!

You already have the next project started: While you’re working on your first novel, you can take a break to roughly lay out that second story.  Once the novel done, you already have the framework down for the one, allowing you to jump into it , getting  it done and out on the market.

I currently have three new stories in the development stages that I’ll take some time to write down and keep in a safe place. 

I definitely don’t claim to be an expert as I’m just getting myself situated in the writing game.  So what are your thoughts on keeping 2nd (and 3rd) stories in the back of your mind while still working on your first one?

What you may have missed!

Round One of Editing: Figuring Out Our Issues

Musical Inspiration: I Remain by Alanis Morissette

Character Spotlight: Queen Gorgo from the movie 300

Comments
  1. sqt says:

    I used to write a lot more. I’m afraid I’m way too distractable these days. But I often think ahead to the next story while I’m working on the current one. I find it really easy to find tangents in what I’m currently writing that I want to explore more, but know that it’ll have to come in the next installment.

    • MJ says:

      It is very easy to go off in a completely different direction when you writing your current work. I find that writing that idea down somewhere that I can come back to get’s it “out of my system” so to speak!

  2. […] People Are Saying! sqt on Hey Newbie Writers! Do you hav…kai charles on Follow Friday #4Danielle on Follow Friday #4MJ on Follow Friday! […]

Leave a Reply

