A Book That Definitely Deserves the Movie: I Am Number Four by Pitticus Lore

Posted: November 10, 2010 in Uncategorized

I learned of this book after seeing this movie trailer a month or so back.  From what I know so far, it’s due to come out in February and the trailer alone looked so good, I had to get my hands on the book.

Favorite Parts of the Book:

I won’t go into too much detail because I don’t want to give it too much away, but my favorite part of the book was the big battle scene at the end.  It was what I was waiting for through the entire book and didn’t disappoint!

Favorite Character:

Though book for me didn’t have too much in the way of character development because the action was just nonstop, I did have two favorite characters: Sarah and Sam.  I liked Sam because he was a total nerd/conspiracy theorist that made him such a colorful character. His new-found loyalty to the main character John towards the end was also very admirable.  I also liked Sarah, John’s love interest and a mean-girl turned good turn girl who loves photography and really loves John, even when she finds out what’s really going on.  Gotta love a girl for that!

The Good News:

This book is nonstop action from beginning to end!  With my hectic schedule, I devoured this book in two days which says a whole lot for me.  The book was constantly moving, even during the down time where I about the new alien race, the significance of the numbers, and why they were here on Earth.  I loved the fact that main character’s powers developed through the book, building up to his awesomeness instead of laying it all out in the first chapter.   The fight scenes were vivid and the use of flashbacks was just right.  I didn’t feel like the information was just dumped in one section of the book.  The ending was a cliffhanger, just the way I liked them and I am definitely waiting on the next installment in this series.

Now for the bad news:

I haven’t read YA fiction in a really long time, so with that said, I thought the writing itself was just a little too simple for me.  I know the book was written in first person, however, I just thought some sentences were way too short and abrupt, especially during the downtime of the novel.  I also thought there were some spots I thought were written out of convenience.

Comments
  1. Ann Marie says:

    I want to read it!
    This winter break I should be able to 🙂

Leave a Reply

