Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Posted: November 29, 2010 in Movie Reviews
Tags: ,

moviepostershop.com

The day before Thanksgiving I took my sister (aka the die hard Harry Potter fan) to see the Deathly Hallows.  To prepare, I watched the Half Blood Prince the night before, because those of us who have kept up with the movies, you have to know what happened before in order to appreciate the movie.  Before I went I already heard great reviews of the movie, so my expectations were high and I was totally psyched.

I have to admit, I haven’t read any of the Harry Potter books, which is such a shame because my brother and my sister have read them all!  But I’ve followed all of the movies, with each one giving me just a little more of the plot.  I think if someone didn’t watch all of them, they would be completely lost and wouldn’t enjoy them as much.  I expected them to be a little slow, more info than action, because it was all leading up to the final showdown between Harry Potter and Lord V  (I dare not say the name! LOL).  Before this movie, the Order of the Phoenix was my favorite and the most action packed in my opinion.  So, with all that said….

Deathly Hallows made watching all of the other movies totally worth it!

It was action packed from beginning to end and started tying up the loose ends from the other movies.  It confirmed that Harry Potter is indeed the one ( to everyone and himself).  Yes, Bellatrix is psycho.  The Ministry of Magic is up to no good.  I still can’t stand Snape.  Draco is all talk.  Ron is an awesome friend (who has more courage than even he knows) and Hermione is a witch that cannot be messed with!  It was great seeing the three of them maturing and finally coming into their own.  Though Dumbledore is gone (and I’m still upset about that from the Half Blood Prince), he still had a significant role so I didn’t end up missing him too much.  Then again, I guess it was necessary because I always saw him as Harry’s training wheels and if JK is going to end the story the right way, Harry needs to handle this on his own.

I don’t want to give too much away but this was indeed the best movie of all of them!  What a way to bring in the final act of the story!

Comments
  1. Ann Marie says:

    that movie was awesome!!! glad i got to see it with you 🙂

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by M. McGriff, M. McGriff. M. McGriff said: Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: http://wp.me/p164Vv-2F […]

Leave a Reply

