My New Year’s Writing Resolutions

Posted: January 3, 2011 in Writing
Tags: ,

Happy New Year!!

I am soo psyched about 2011!  At first, I had a million and one things I want to achieve this year like write like a maniac every day or lose 20 pounds in like two week – but I know the holiday hype can lead to a lot of unrealistic expectations.  So after coming down from the midnight high I came up with a few concrete resolutions and goals that I want to make this year.

Be Fully Committed to my Story

Last year, I have made three major changes to my storyline that required duplicating a lot of time and effort.  Now I found one I really like, but I can’t help but feel uneasy about it, because I have felt “sure” about the other ones.  It’s hard when you have a concept that can take so many different story forms with a new one always sounding better than the last.  However, I can’t spin my wheels any longer and it’s time to knuckle down and toss those fears to the side.  My story and I have to recommit to each other – for better or worse!

Set a Writing Schedule

As organized as I am in all other aspects of my life, I found it difficult to adhere to a writing schedule.  I was involved in other writing projects that seemed to take up a lot of my time and I was only able to write in large chunks of time.  This year, I’m on a deadline as well as being held accountable by my writing peers and editors.  So I created a schedule with monthly goals to strive for each month that all add up to the big goal of getting my book ready for a 2011 publication.

Continue to Learn my Craft

I didn’t start visiting and reading other writing blogs until late last year.  I learned so much about writing, plot structure, story and character arcs, and world building.  I still have a lot more to learn and I plan to dedicate more of time to continue learning and improving my craft through following more blogs and getting books on writing.

I know this year is going to be a hard working one for me but that’s okay!  I am getting to do what I love and I now have a solid plan to do it!

What are your New Year’s Resolutions?  I would love to hear them!

Photo courtesy of:  images.mirror.co.uk

Comments
  1. jesswords10 says:

    Nice blog! I think we have the same new year’s resolutions. Best of luck to you in 2011. I hope you are able to write like a maniac. That cracked me up.

  2. M. McGriff says:

    Thank you so much! I’ve been writing like a maniac for a whole two days now so hopefully this stays a habit 🙂

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by M. McGriff, M. McGriff. M. McGriff said: My New Year's Writing Resolutions: http://wp.me/p164Vv-3J […]

Leave a Reply

